So I am searching around on certcities.com today, scroll all the way down to the bottom of the home page and what do I find? An advertisement for a site that sells braindumps...or at least a site that appears to have "actual questions and actual answers" and that guarantees you will "pass the MCSE in 7 days" with "no classes and you don't even have to know the material."
So these ads are static...I keep trying to find it again, but this time it is for the "CCNA in 3 days" with actual questions and answers by certified instructors. I find it a bit odd that a website that endorses legitimate means for getting IT certifications, is offering advertisements to a company that seems a little shifty.
Here is an actual quote from the website: "Our 20+ experienced instructors from 10 testing centers all around the world dedicate to providing actual questions and accurate answers of most IT certification exams."
This is on THIS VERY SITE PEOPLE! Check out the website yourselves (again, this is a static advertisement banner on this site!)
www.hotexam.com
Regardless, it is hokey, man! Even if it is "Ads by Goooogle" it is shotty to have on this site. I am looking at one on the site right now for drcert and some certnow...what the....??????
Joined: 20 August 2003 Location: United States Posts: 3441
Posted: 04 May 2006 at 2:38pm | IP Logged
you'll also see the ad MCSE Brain Dump by www.*.* here too (ads by Google) problem is, it helps pay their bills even though I'm sure the moderators of the forums would probably wouldn't want to see it, they may not have that much control over the sales people here on what should/shouldn't be displayed.
Joined: 30 August 2005 Location: United States Posts: 6048
Posted: 04 May 2006 at 9:27pm | IP Logged
You guys shouldn't be posting those names or links... cause all you're doing is providing them advertising. These pages are indexed by Google, so you're enabling them to be searchable... not to mention enabling cheaters to realize that those sites are in fact ways for them to be able to cheat.
From my experience with other forums, sites that use Ads by Gooogle **do** have some control over what ads are displayed. However, the control is minimal... the site owner (for example, the CertCities forum manager) has to specifically tell Google which ads to not display on a case-by-case basis... they can't simply say "all braindump sites", cause Google doesn't know which are and which are not, ya know?
Joined: 27 August 2006 Location: United States Posts: 9
Posted: 12 September 2006 at 12:44pm | IP Logged
Hey guys, sounds like you may not be aware of the "Competetive Ad Filter" that is offered by Google AdSense, but you can put any site you want in there.
If you'd like my list (I have about 75 dump sites that I block from my ads), then email or PM me.
Edited by REWilliams on 12 September 2006 at 12:47pm
__________________ Robert Williams
CertGuard, Inc.
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You can vote in polls in this forum